watch out, you might end up in someone’s blog!

It’s sad to see how such a great thing as blogging has emerged and everyone interprets it in different ways. Bloggers discuss a wide range of topics such as: recipes, DIYs, reviews, criticisms, vents- internet diaries, etc. It’s sad that this question even popped up! What’s more sad is that people can’t confront the actual person and  have to vent and write horrible things on their blogs.

I personally disagree with this statement. Why? Because everyone is different, and everyone is free to act as they please- as long as it’s not offensive or cruel. If someone has an awkward presence and dress in Christmas Sweaters all the time, it is not a reason to blog nasty things about them. Some people are rude, I agree, because they state all their opinions without any boundaries. But those people are themselves, and they probably should expect that someone will say something about them. We can’t all be on our toes all the time, scared that someone will blog mean things about them.

I believe in the Golden rule: “One should treat others as one would like others to treat oneself.” People should be nice if they want others to be nice to them. People should act accordingly and like sincere citizens if they want others to treat them with respect and kindness. So many people utilize their blogs as diaries…. they sometimes don’t even look for followers. I personally thing they should write in a physical diary with an actual pen, but everyone is different. Some like using computers more than getting hand cramps furiously writing. I rather furiously write and underline instead of breaking my keyboard. People are able to write about anything they want online, but they should try playing nice. If I end up in someone’s blog in a negative way, I’d say, “Great. That’s one thing I can change about myself!” Of course, after cursing them off, and then realizing that I’m special to be featured in someone’s blog. They took time out of their lives to dedicate a post to me. How. Sweet. But chances are I probably won’t know if an individual blogged about me. Most bloggers change the names when blogging about others. If they are blatant and open, I probably will not mind. My friends and family know how I act on a normal basis and would understand.

People tweet or update Facebook statuses about others and their good/bad experiences. It’s a normal thing. People have been updating their diaries with good/bad things. Crushes. Rude people. Santa Claus. Forever we have been writing about people ‘secretly’. No one should have to worry about whether someone will write about them or not. Bloggers should be able to, however, be more respectful to privacy. They shouldn’t upload pictures or videos or whatever about a person without their permission… At least keep the post on the DL, change up names, or keep it as a private post!

Leave a Reply

