Don’t stop bloggin!

It’s all about commitment and self-motivation. After reading and learning about all the reasons and ways to avoid abandonment of blogs, I feel like it all depends on the blogger. If a blogger does not enjoy their topic anymore, they may forget about it, or take a really long time to update and write a post. The blogger can also just lose interest. If the blogger doesn’t feel committed or happy with their blogs, readers probably would feel just the same. The blogger needs to have fun and be committed. Bloggers might also set the bar too high when first starting their blogs. They might think that their blog will get a million followers in a few days, or they might believe that a lot of people will repost, comment, and talk about all their posts. Others might want monetary feedback. It takes a few weeks to a few months, maybe years, to build of readerships and followers. By setting the expectations too high and then not achieving it quickly, the blogger might lose complete interest.

Bloggers can set little goals that seem more realistic and approachable. With followers, maybe they can say 10 followers in two weeks and slowly grow it from there. They can create posting schedules and calendars to make sure they strictly follow a pattern, so that it will integrate normally into their lives if they want to blog for a long period. They should allow friends and family to provide feedback and comments; it’s always good to hear a little bit of criticism. It’s better to hear positive feedback that can motivate a blogger to keep on blogging.

I need to schedule my posts accordingly. I never know what certain days will bring. With a schedule, I’d be much more committed. I need to set a tiny goal every few weeks to keep going. I also should jot down more notes about ideas because I get great ones but forget all the time. One thing other bloggers (and I?) can do is follow blogs and forums that have similar topics. That way, there would be more motivation. I think more ideas can stem from others’ stories, and there will be more responses and opinions elicited- every reader loves drama and responses!!

I would definitely tell my friend to start posting again. I would even offer to give her ideas! I might help her edit, too. If her blog posts were that awesome, I would definitely bribe her with cookies or something amazing to keep her going strong. I would make her feel guilty about her readers crying that they haven’t read her posts in a while. I’d show her the lists that we read and try persuading her in any way possible!!

Leave a Reply

