Live Blogging and Music

My blog is about Japanese music (I think I’ve mentioned this over 9000 times already), and the one thing I will never be able to do is enjoy a full live performance by any of my favorite bands. The closest I’ve gotten is a downloaded DVD rip of a Sakanaction concert (which was btw phenomenal). I think live blogging concerts could be really amazing for someone like me who does not have the ability to see the band live. Whenever I see on facebook an update on when a Japanese band’s next concert is, I get really excited and then extremely depressed. So many things run through my mind, like what songs will they play? Will they do an encore? Will they play songs from past albums and maybe reinvent them on the spot? How will they transition from song to song? A live blog would tell me all of these things, and maybe even more. I would love to get live feed of a Sakanaction or World Order concert. People could post about the types of songs currently playing, how the band improvised certain parts, or even what the best live performance of the night was. Songs that don’t particularly sound good in the studio version could sound amazing live. If someone microblogged about a song like that, it would only increase my burning desire to visit Japan and see it with my own two eyes. On the flipside, if a band doesn’t sound good live, I don’t really want to hear from live blogs about how bad the concert is. Also, the information someone could forward through a live blog is kind of limited. A review of a concert might be more helpful for me. Still, live blogs offer a unique experience that might lack the depth of a normal blog, but more than makes up for it with the excitement of seeing things in real time.

Leave a Reply

