Collaborative Chaos

I guess you could say I’m a little bit biased when it comes to individual vs. network blogging. I prefer individual, mainly because that’s all I’ve ever done. I prefer to have people follow my blog, like my blog posts, and simply enjoy my blog as it was created by me. I like knowing that my creation is gaining likes and followers. It makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something and I’m unsure if I would get that same sort of satisfaction on taking part in a collaborative blog. Sure the blog might get popular but it would be thanks to the collaboration and you’re own work might not get the same kind of recognition. It might sound a bit selfish but I really wouldn’t like a collaborated blog. I also wouldn’t trust other people to write on my blog if I was the host. I’d be worried because that blog represents me more than anyone else because I am the host blogger.

I’m really picky.

Though if there was a topic I wanted to write badly enough about but didn’t have the time to keep up my own blog then I might contribute to a collaborative blog. I do think it’s a nice idea to have a place to write where you don’t have to write about as often. I imagine as a reader it would also be nice to get a different perspective on the same topic and blog. It would bring in more readers and commenters.

I think it really depends on who you are as a person and what you have time for. Blogs like BlogHer are good ideas for some people, but not for all. Not for me.

One comment

Leave a Reply

