BlogHer vs BlogMe? Blogging Networks < Individual Blogs

I think joining a blogging network like BlogHer is a good way to attract readers to your blog, to an extent. If I were to follow this network, I would be seeing a lot of posts that aren’t yours as well, so while SOME of your posts may become popular, your blog as a whole may not, as many posts may go unnoticed. Also, I feel like if I was going to talk about this post with someone else, I’d say “oh I saw it on BlogHer” not necessarily the exact blog that it came from. It’s probably better to establish credibility and a following on your own blog if you are seeking high success, though this may help to attract readers initially.

I believe it is possible to carry on both your own blog as well as social media as a blogger. One health blog I follow is a young woman who lost a tremendous amount of weight and now inspires other girls to do the same. She posts healthy recipes, talks about her workouts, but also gives insight into bits of her personal life. At the same time, she is active on social media to truly inspire and stay connected with the girls reading her blog, motivating them to eat well and exercise. Additionally even to that, she runs another blog where she chooses several girls to be on her “team” and moderates their blog posts and adds her own- kind of like watching their progress and giving extra tips and staying very connected to those chosen girls. While it doesn’t seem like she has another job, so she has a lot of time for social media and blogging, she does a great job balancing her different sites  while maintaining the healthy lifestyle she promotes.

If I were to join a social blogging network, I would assume it would be a group of younger DIY bloggers. I like to post things that are easy for anyone of any skill range to post, but I focus on college girls based on money, availability of supplies, and especially the recipes. So, I think my blog would fit in well with a site dedicated to college girls, kind of like HerCampus but for a varying range of blog types. It would be cool to be able to read a site that has DIY things, recipes, video games for girls, movie reviews, etc.. all focused on college age girls and eliminating sarcastic or “slut/betch” posts. It would be more serious and interesting/helpful rather than entertaining. All the bloggers would have a common goal and they would maybe link to other girls’ posts within their own, if relevant.

Leave a Reply

