Questionable experiences in online dating :)

http://28dateslater.blogspot.com/

So this blog scares me, like… Im actually a little bit concerned for my own safety in undertaking this blog/social experiment. Anyway,this blog follows a very similar journey to the one I am about to undertake: a blogger going on 28 dates using 28 different dating sites.The writing is usually done in a humorous and relate-able tone. I like that he presents his posts like chapters in a story as well as his minimalistic approach to his layout. One thing I did not like was his use of videos inserted into blog posts. I will try to stay away from those in my blog since my posts will probably be long enough and I don’t want my visitors to have to sit through a 3:08 video clip just to understand some reference for a cheap laugh.

http://datestable.wordpress.com/

This is another blog written by an average dude getting into online dating for the first time. This blogger, like me, also decided to use Okcupid as his dating site of choice. The first couple posts cover starting your own Okcupid profile and there are a couple more posts on tips for online dating spread out afterwards. The writing here is pretty straightforward which makes it easy to read, although I think that the lack of humor makes reading some of the longer posts tedious. The layout is nice and simple although it is colored in a pretty obnoxious bubblegum which might be a deterrent to his target audience(male readers who already feel a little weird about using a dating site). This blogger has a tendency to cover over a couple dates in a post without going too in-depth and focusing more on a central theme. Overall I do find some of the more guide-like posts to be informative and helpful for my blog.

http://datingisweird.blogspot.com/

This blog is actually a community blog with all the posts being made by different contributors.  The posts range from weird dating stories to advice to random confessionals. One of the consequences of a community blog is the large disparities in quality among posts. However, the blog does have two sections for the most popular posts and editors picks to save you the trouble of searching. Although I know I want a more minimalist layout for my own blog, this one might be too barren for me.  One thing I do like though, is the checkboxes underneath each posts, so that in addition to comments, readers can check off whether they found it “funny” or “I feel ya” or “are you kidding?”.

 

One comment

  1. Casey Vidgen

    I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

Leave a Reply

