Aloha!

In India this summer with me (far left), my brother (middle right), and my two cousins.

In India this summer with me (far left), my brother (middle right), and my two cousins.

No, I am not Hawaiian. I am, in fact, Indian (both my parents were born and raised in India). My name is Hirsh Gupta, and am a sophomore in the School of Arts and Sciences. Currently a pre-business major, I am still confused about which major I want to pursue, although I do have a vague idea, either economics or something in the business school. I am born and raised in New Jersey (I was actually born in New Brunswick!) and I currently live in Plainsboro, a fairly small town outside of Princeton. Central Jersey exists!

In my spare time I like to hang out with friends, play basketball, watch TV, and play video games. I am also a HUGE sports fan; the Yankees are my  favorite team and baseball is by far my favorite sport. In fact, it would probably be tough for you to find a bigger baseball fan than I am. I also like the Brooklyn Nets (NBA), NJ Devils (NHL), and the NY Jets (NFL). I mostly enjoy sports video games, but I also enjoy shooter games such as Call of Duty and Grand Theft Auto (it may not technically be a shooter game, but guns are heavily involved in the gameplay). I love watching sitcoms and other comedy related shows, and some of my favorites include Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, and Family Guy. My favorite comedian is Russell Peters. Up until this summer, comedy shows were pretty much the only shows I would watch, but I got hooked onto Breaking Bad (possible spoiler alert), Suits, and Dexter.

I pretty much listen to all types of music. If you were to look at the songs I listen to, they are all over the place. Seriously, one song would be by Eminem and the next could be by The Beatles or K’Naan (you guys should seriously check him out) or Red Hot Chili Peppers. I also used to play the trumpet for about seven years and the viola for one year before that (my brother allegedly brainwashed me into quitting the viola to play the trumpet). I played for my high school’s marching band for three years and the jazz band for four years (I am not a band geek, I swear!!) and enjoyed all the different experiences I had and friends I made along the way.

I hope to enjoy read all of your (hopefully) fun-filled blogs, and also hope that you guys will enjoy mine (whatever it may be about)!

Leave a Reply

