Megan: The Basics

Me at Senior Prom

Me at Senior Prom

Hey there!  I’m Megan Murray, a Junior at Rutgers.  I am a Computer Science Major and a Technical Writing minor.  Long story short, I pretty much live on my computer.  While of course no one likes stereotypes, I suppose I’m not really breaking any molds here:  I’m kind of a dork, I love to play video games, I sleep until 1pm on weekends, I’ve watched my share of anime, when I put on makeup I don’t really know what i’m doing, and I’ve avoided numerous social obligations just so I could just sit around on my computer.

As for video games, I mostly PC game, online playing League of Legends, World of Warcraft, and recently, Final Fantasy XIV.  Offline games I like are The Elder Scrolls (Morrowind, Oblivion, Skyrim) and well, who can resist the Sims?  I have also been playing Pokemon since Yellow and am eagerly awaiting the new X and Y games!  Other games I have spent way too much time playing include all the Smash Brothers, Harvest Moons, and Animal Crossing.  But enough about video games – there are more things I do with my life, right?

Besides being on the computer, I’m an avid baker.   I do like cooking, but why have regular, boring food when you could have dessert? I mean, come on now.  I prefer to make mini cakes when I’m just baking for fun, because really, a full size cake is pretty big when you want to make like seven cakes.  I am, however, not the biggest fan of cupcakes.  Naturally, I’ve gotten into making quite a few video game cakes.

Cake from Portal

Cake from Portal

In another class I took at Rutgers, Web Authoring, I created a website for some of the game baking I’ve done.  It’s a really cheesy website, as the professor was insistent on the theme being extremely prevalent, but it does its job.  I want to revamp / finish the website, but keep putting it off.

Besides gaming and baking, I also love horses!  I prefer to ride english, but western is pretty comfy.  I am going to be joining the Rutgers Equestrian Team for the first time this year.  I have not competed since I was 13, but hopefully I can get back in the swing of things!  Riding a horse is kinda like riding a bike, you don’t forget.  You just get sore.  Just before the semester started my family went to Aruba, and I was able to gallop on a horse for the first time!  It really is the best feeling in the world.

Riding in Aruba! (I'm on the left)

Riding in Aruba with my twin sister! (I’m on the left)

That’s enough about me for now, I look forward to reading some interesting blogs from all of you!  😀

Leave a comment