Greetings!

(NOTE: Play the music video while reading. It makes it so much less boring. You might have to scroll down a bit to find it)

Me holding up some famous tower in Italy.

My name is Matthew Lew. People like calling me Matt Lew because it sounds like Mat – thew (they think it’s clever or something). I’m a freshman here at Rutgers, and I aim to graduate with a degree in Computer Science. I am of Chinese decent, but I consider myself whitewashed. Even though I know about as much Chinese as a horsefly, I still cherish my heritage, and I plan on joining one of Rutger’s many Chinese culture clubs. I was actually a board member of my high school’s Asian Club and helped plan events that raised money for charity. Hopefully, I can continue helping people at Rutgers too.

Looking at my hobbies, most people would probably categorize myself as a “nerd”. I love video games to death and I have a habit of quoting my favorite movies during conversations. My most overused quotes come from the likes of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanAmerican Psycho, The Dark Knight, and The Dark Knight Rises. If I use them in a conversation, I apologize in advance for whatever annoyances I might cause.

I might say something like this

 Some of my favorite video games include Halo: CE, League of Legends, World of Warcraft, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, and Guild Wars 2. If any of these look familiar, contact me! I would love to play some time. Other things I enjoy include Japanese anime and music. Anime completely replaced television for me, and I don’t really have the patience to sit and watch Spongebob anymore. It has to be my favorite pastime (other than eating). I’m also big on Japanese music. If you have any in your music collection, definitely send me some. If you haven’t listened to Sakanaction as a lover of Japanese music, please check them out. They are by far my favorite band.

Sakanaction

I consider myself mildly athletic, although I never really played on any teams. The only sport I ever really played was Ultimate Frisbee, and even then, people are hesitant to fully accept that as a “sport”. In high school, I played on a team put together by the students. I was never actually that good, but my team won the Division II State Championship. It sounds fancy, but that just means we were the best of the worst. Here’s a picture of my team at States (I’m not actually in the picture):

EB Ultimate!

I don’t really know how to classify my taste in music, but I would say I like Rock music the most. My favorite bands include: Sakanaction, The Killers, Phoenix, Straightener, The Strokes, and Young the Giant. If you’ve never listened to Japanese music before, here’s a little taste:

I have a strange infatuation with cooking videos/shows/channels, ESPECIALLY the Food Network. Call me strange, but I could watch that channel for hours at a time without pause. Unfortunately, my cooking skills are mediocre at best. I tell myself every year that I will dedicate myself to learning how to cook, but I always end up setting off the fire alarms.

If you find cooking videos on youtube interesting, I suggest you look up channels like Sorted Food, runnyrunny999, and Food Wishes. That about wraps up my first blog post. Feel free to add me on facebook. I guess I’ll see you all on Tuesday. Until then:

One comment

Leave a Reply

